Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

adam9c1

macrumors 68000
Original poster
May 2, 2012
Chicagoland
I'm new to HomeKit. I will be implementing two iHome outlet plugs, but I have a question about Hue Light Strips.

In our kitchen we have poor lighting. One ceiling fixture with a fan and 6 lightbulbs in that. I have installed 100w equivalent and it lights up the table etc OK but we need task lights at the countertops.
We have one 3 halogen light fixture under the sink.

Will Hue Lightstrip provide ample light as a work light?
I understand this expense would be much higher than "regular" light strip, but I can't find anything decent at Amazon. Strips I see is 5feet = 60watt.

Also what's the difference between light strip and light strip plus?

amjustice

macrumors 6502
Jun 25, 2007
Naperville, IL
I was just looking at these the other day.

I believe the lightstrip plus has a larger output. Here is their page on the new one:

http://www2.meethue.com/en-us/productdetail/philips-hue-lightstrip-plus

Vs the old one:
http://www2.meethue.com/en-us/productdetail/philips-hue-lightstrip

I think where the lightstrip shines (Bad Pun) is for things like under cabinet lighting. I don't think you are going to want to put this somewhere where you are going to be able to see it directly. More somewhere you can hide it under a counter or cabinets and then let the light shine out.

For me it seemed a little expensive but I like the idea though...

I'm new to HomeKit. I will be implementing two iHome outlet plugs, but I have a question about Hue Light Strips.

In our kitchen we have poor lighting. One ceiling fixture with a fan and 6 lightbulbs in that. I have installed 100w equivalent and it lights up the table etc OK but we need task lights at the countertops.
We have one 3 halogen light fixture under the sink.

Will Hue Lightstrip provide ample light as a work light?