Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JSENNY25

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 12, 2008
Ohio
Hi everyone! So, I am new to the world of HomePods, but have been using airplay from an apple airport Xpress plugged in to an old iPod hi-fi for ages. AirPlay is great

I love it.

But, I realize it may be time to enter into the modern era of smart speaker and I wonder if a HomePod would be a benefit.

I recently found a first gen HomePod for $150 for sale from a friend of a friend....It is in great shape and has no issues. It also sounds great and looks great (white).

With that being said, I have a want, not a need for a HomePod. As far as I can tell, I should also be able to send sound to both the Hi-FI and the HomePod...that might be fun.

Is $150 worth it or should I save up and go for the HomePod 2? I am at a bit of a loss. I feel like for 150, it could be nice to have and it is at a level where I can be happy economically. $300 is where I have to pause and consider if the cost is worth it because I still use AirPlay and the Hi-FI...

They also have a HomePod Mini in like new condition for $45....

Thanks fro the help!

Is there anything else I should be aware of before I pull the trigger?

Last edited:
Reactions: Bahamas2023

dotme

macrumors 65816
Oct 18, 2011
Iowa
The 2018 HomePods were great, although there are many reports online of some hardware failures. I own nine, and have lost one to a hardware failure so far (That one was replaced under AppleCare+ at about 19 months). At $150 you don't have too much to lose if it dies though, and that's half the price of the new one.