Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wingsley

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 20, 2014
A couple months ago, I bought a brand-new iPhone SE (2022 model) from Apple direct. I enjoy this compact and powerful cellphone, even though I am new to iPhone. (My previous smartphones over the last several years were Motorola Android phones.)

Here's a question I have about charging. I honestly don't know what technology the iPhone SE (2022) uses.

What forms of charging does the iPhone SE support? It is charging via Lightning cable only? Does the SE support any wireless charging, like Qi? If it does, what options are available on the market?

The reason I ask is that Anker keeps posting to my Facebook feed (I'm pretty sure I liked their page a long time ago) featuring a portable charger that offers Qi capability. I wanted to know if that would work with my SE.

Paddle1

macrumors 601
May 1, 2013
The 2022 SE supports standard wireless Qi charging, as does every iPhone released since 2017.

I don't know the specifics though as I've only charged with a cable.

Reactions: Wingsley

Spetsgruppa

macrumors 6502a
Feb 3, 2021
iPhone SE 2022 supports up to 7.5w via Qi Charging. As for options. I use a Samsung Wireless Fast Charging stand for my 12 Pro Max but it charges slower compared to using the Apple Magsafe Charger. But then again, if you want to charge faster use the cable.

jav6454

macrumors Core
Nov 14, 2007
1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
A couple months ago, I bought a brand-new iPhone SE (2022 model) from Apple direct. I enjoy this compact and powerful cellphone, even though I am new to iPhone. (My previous smartphones over the last several years were Motorola Android phones.)

Here's a question I have about charging. I honestly don't know what technology the iPhone SE (2022) uses.