Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ateganda29

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 25, 2009
hello everyone. as you will see on my title, i'm new to the world of apple and enjoying myself. i purchased an iMac and mobileme service a few months back but i haven't gotten around to be fully proficient with my iMac and using it to its full potential. i finally signed up with mobileme service to sync my mail, contacts, calendar, and iphone. i know from reading different sites that mobileme has had syncing issues ever since it was released but i'm not sure if it has been fixed since then. here's my scenario:

when i make a change on my calendar or contacts on the mobileme website or my iphone, the push/sync to the other is almost instantaneous. but i can't say the same for my iMac. the change shows a lot longer on my iMac. and when i make a change on iCal or AddressBook on my iMac, the change also takes a lot longer to show up on my iphone and mobileme website. is that normal? this morning, i updated some contacts on the mobileme website, added birthdays for some folks. checked my iphone and the changes have been pushed. however, the birthdays are still not showing up on my birthday calendar on my iphone or mobileme website. i found out that it will only appears on your birthday calendar if those information are on your iCal. so it's safe to assume that the information has not been pushed/synced to my iMac at home. do the push/sync happen even if your iMac is asleep?

prss14

macrumors 6502a
Jul 18, 2009
Kentucky