Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wirtandi

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 3, 2021
I am new to XCode and have several questions

1. How exactly do you duplicate a line? In VSCode, you can press alt + shift + up/down and it will duplicate that line. Or shift + option + up/down in mac
2. control + I only indents. I need an auto format feature, such as making sure there is whitespace before and after a "=". in VSCode, its shift + option + F.
3. WHen I am using the simulator, and I make changes, how do I update the simulator? Do I just press cmd + R again, at which point there will be a popup that says "there is already a new instance of the simulator, do you want to close it and open a new one?"

Kalzem

macrumors newbie
Dec 17, 2021
You go always go to Xcode > Preferences > Key Binding and assign whatever you want if you can find the feature.

1. With the new xcode 14, it's Cmd + D (select a line > Edit > Duplicate)
2. Ctrl + I is auto indent. You won't find any auto format. You can use vscode for that. Or you can use a linter like SwiftLint to tell you where the formating issues are.
3. There is no hot reloading on iOS. You indeed need to re-run the project which should automatically kill the previous simulator without the popup. Not sure why you have that.
If you really need hot reloading, there is a tutorial out there (https://www.merowing.info/hot-reloading-in-swift/) but it implies you build your code differently. I wouldn't recommend it, unless you 100% know what you are doing.

ADGrant

macrumors 68000
Mar 26, 2018
You go always go to Xcode > Preferences > Key Binding and assign whatever you want if you can find the feature.

1. With the new xcode 14, it's Cmd + D (select a line > Edit > Duplicate)
2. Ctrl + I is auto indent. You won't find any auto format. You can use vscode for that. Or you can use a linter like SwiftLint to tell you where the formating issues are.