Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Giuanniello

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 21, 2012
Capri - Italy
Hello,

total newbie about automation here, I was wondering if there is a way to, say, switch lights from remote if I have whole apt on wifi and buy stuff like remotely controlled bulbs or plugs?

Grazie

Itinj24

Contributor
Nov 8, 2017
New York
If you’re referring to HomeKit, you’d need a home hub (AppleTV, HomePod or iPad) and then yes, you’d be able to remotely control any HomeKit device.

Giuanniello

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 21, 2012
Capri - Italy
Thank you so much but some more questions of course ;-)

I bought a small Echo Dot 5 and a compatible bulb for my mum's place, I plan on getting her also a Fire TV stick (the one I have which I will updated with a new ATV) so that my son more than hers can play with the whole thing but in my case, say, I have an outdoor light I wanna switch on remotely before I get home at night, can I use the same bulbs I got my mum (Philips hue if I am correct)?

Just curious to know how it works, the app has to find the home network then connect to the hub (ATV, correct?) which then acts as a router for the various appliances, is that how it works?

I am gonna check it out, grazie in the meantime

Itinj24

Contributor
Nov 8, 2017
New York
Not sure why you’re referencing the Echo Dot, and Fire TV Stick but I’ll stick to the HomeKit aspect.

For Philips Hue to work with HomeKit and to be able to be controlled remotely, you need a Philips Hue Bridge which is sold separately from the light bulbs. The Hue Bridge connects to your network via ethernet. You then add the bridge to HomeKit using the code labeled on it. Then any Hue product you add to the bridge will be available in HomeKit. The bulbs connect to the Bridge using the Zigbee protocol which is ultra fast and reliable.