Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

groove-agent

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jan 13, 2006
Hey all,

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to DNS serving. I understand what DNS is and what it does, but haven't set up a DNS server myself.

What inspired this post is the fact that the search engines can't index my website properly because my dns registrar (Godaddy), uses a frame to mask the forwarding of my website. As a result, Google can't pickup on it. The answer, is to properly host the site on a server.

Now correct me if i'm wrong but if I buy OSX server, I can set up a DNS service so that when someone types in my domain name, it will directly go to my dns server where the website is hosted thereby avoiding the masking techniques?

Sorry if this is a dumb question.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Hey all,

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to DNS serving. I understand what DNS is and what it does, but haven't set up a DNS server myself.

What inspired this post is the fact that the search engines can't index my website properly because my dns registrar (Godaddy), uses a frame to mask the forwarding of my website. As a result, Google can't pickup on it. The answer, is to properly host the site on a server.

Now correct me if i'm wrong but if I buy OSX server, I can set up a DNS service so that when someone types in my domain name, it will directly go to my dns server where the website is hosted thereby avoiding the masking techniques?

Sorry if this is a dumb question.

Well you could buy a server. But what you'd really need is to buy three or four servers and place them in well connect co-lo centers around the world. That would be rather expensive.