Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

2A Batterie

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 9, 2004
Out of a Suitcase, USA
I'm currently a travelling musician and am about to go on tour off the west coast all the way through the Panama Canal and then back up the east coast. My Canon A75 was recently stolen and I need to get a new camera in the next day or two (so obviously I can't do mail order). I really loved the quality of the A75 and felt that it had enough manual controls to let me play around a bit with shoots, but I didn't care for the size. I'm looking at digital cameras I can just walk out and buy (I'm in Vancouver right now), and want something that is as good as the A75, but with a smaller design that sI can slip in my pocket. The Nikon S1 is available in my hotel for $379 US, but I may take a wander and look for a better value such as the SD400. Any thoughts? Thanks!

AstrosFan

macrumors 6502
Jul 26, 2005
I have one of the previous Canon models (S400) & love it - very compact, easy to use and takes great pictures!

Costco has the Canon SD400 for $299 (link here).

They have a location in Vancouver as well (link here).

If you're not a member, I believe there's a 5% surcharge, so it would end up being $315 (though I'm not 100% certain on the exact amount of the surcharge).

Good luck & have a great trip!

amin

macrumors 6502a
Aug 17, 2003
Boston, MA
I am not familiar with the S1, but I am very happy with my SD400 for what it is. I've used it heavily for a few months now and have no real complaints.

2A Batterie

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 9, 2004
Out of a Suitcase, USA
Thanks for the input so far! Does anyone know how the manual controls on the SD400 compare to the A75? In other words, do I have more or less control options with the SD400 as compared to the A75?

QCassidy352

macrumors G5
Mar 20, 2003
Bay Area