Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ilightworkx

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 11, 2024
Hello this is my first time asking my questions on a platform. I have searched the whole net but have not found any answers that relate to my topic. My english is not so good so I am using a translator tool which works quite well.
I have had a _Apple Power Macintosh G4/733 (Quicksilver) _ since 2003 which I have reactivated.
unfortunately i followed an advice from the net and made the nvram pram and default set and reset all via open firm ware display.
Whenever I try to boot the G4 with a keyboard combination, for example alt + start, the screen remains dark "no signal" the boot manager seems to work because when I press "enter" the G4 boots from the hard disk (there is only one so far)
It is not the original graphics card, it is an ATI Rage128 Pro 16MB AGP Video Card Apple Edition.
After I discovered the "error", I reinstalled the original combo update from apple mac os x 10.4.11 combo, download original from the apple site.
The screen still remains dark!
Could it be that the settings in the open firmware do not create the device tree and do not recognize the graphics card and the screen during the startup process?
How do I get into the open firmware after the system has booted normally and I start the "terminal", for example?

I will test the VGA output today, at the moment the dvi output of the graphics card is connected to the screen.

thank you very much best regards ilighworkx from berlin
Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

Amethyst1

macrumors G3
Oct 28, 2015
It is not the original graphics card, it is an ATI Rage128 Pro 16MB AGP Video Card Apple Edition.
I will test the VGA output today, at the moment the dvi output of the graphics card is connected to the screen.