Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ksukhin

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 20, 2013
I am an Engineering student and I am wondering if there is an app that will allow me to do the following:

a) Type notes on my iPad and draw in diagrams either with finger or stylus

B) Use my rMBP as the keyboard, plug in my iPad, and draw on the iPad.
And whatever I draw on the iPad will show up on my macbook.

Thanks!

Operant

macrumors newbie
Aug 19, 2013
pretty sure you cannot use it directly as a graphics tablet, but you could probably get a drawing app and send it over later.
Evernote and Pages are pretty good for general note taking, but never used them to draw.

case2001

macrumors 6502
Sep 9, 2010
Two words:GoodNotes and Adonit.

Both of these are for the iPad.

Goodnotes will allow your take notes, draw pictures, and has auto complete for straight line, circle, and basic geometric shapes. It is very good to write formulas with. You can export to PDF via wifi, iCloud, Box, and others. It will allow you to mark up PDF's. I have not tried this however. Its user interface is simple and clean. Very easy to take notes quickly and effortless. GoodNotes also has an easy way to type text boxes as well. It even has handwriting recognition.

Add your choice of Adonit stylus and your set. I can't believe it, but I like it better then paper and pen. I have the Adonit Jot pro with Pixel Point Technology and it is great. But I started with the cheapest Adonit stylus to try it. It was really nice too.

You really don't even need your rMBP. If you export to PDF, you can read it on your rMBP at home/dorm.

Last edited:

Allograft

macrumors 6502
Oct 19, 2014
I'd to know if any are good at ignoring the meat of the hand in preference for the stylus and at the same time contemporaneously transcribe into type from writing

case2001

macrumors 6502
Sep 9, 2010