Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FRVRandAFTR

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 30, 2015
I'm a tech kinda guy who's been interested in photography for a while but honestly I've been too intimidated to take the plunge. I've been reading articles for months now, looking at posts in this forum lately, and constantly trying to keep up with The Verge camera articles while I build up the courage to take the plunge. Since I don't have a personal Becca from The Verge to bounce questions off of, I wondered if some of you kind people would mind giving a newbie some starting tips. I'm starting out with the fundaments slowly, one piece at a time. Honestly it seems overwhelming but with baby steps I think I can comfortably ease into it and see if it's a hobby for me.

I have decided to start by deciding on only the body of the camera to start out with as step one.

Would anyone have some advice for someone looking for the following in a camera?

• mirrorless
  • Canon/Nikon/Sony brand (it's my understanding that these are usually regarded as the best overall but just as importantly can interchange legacy DSLR lenses to be used on the mirrorless models and apparently even have adapters to use each others lenses? wow...)
  • I couldn't care less about video of any kind, I would sacrifice any video features for better camera features and a better value
  • best value/bang for my buck (be it a brand new model or much older model)
  • an emphasis on feature to combat blur as much as possible (ISO? shutter speed? aperture?)
  • any features you, as professionals, would advise for the potential to take some great photos (any and all comments welcome and appreciated)
With that in mind, does anyone have a recommendation on a camera that sounds like it would fit the bill of what I'm looking for?

Much appreciated.

ssmed

macrumors 6502a
Sep 28, 2009
UK