Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rockstarjoe

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 2, 2006
washington dc
Hi everyone,

I'm a noob. I'm working on an app that I would like to submit to the MAS. My app uses Core Data, and is a document based app (using NSPersistentDocument). The data store saves as a SQLite file within a package. I followed Apple's sample code to get the package working correctly.

Everything works great right now, and I am close to being ready to submit my app, but before doing so I have been trying to get everything sandboxed per the new app store / icloud rules.

I can't seem to find much info regarding how to handle an NSPersistentDocument based Core Data app, though. On the developer message board the keep saying that "documentation is forthcoming" but still nothing concrete.

Has anyone done something similar to this? If so, how did you handle it? I can't even seem to save out the SQLite file by itself, let alone in a package, even when I have turned on the read/write entitlements.

Thanks for any advice or documentation that you can point me towards.

rockstarjoe

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 2, 2006
washington dc
Sorry if my terminology is incorrect. In my document I override writeSafelytoURL: and create a NSFileWrapper. I then configure the persistentstorecoordinator for the URL that is passed in, and add it to the filewrapper. Then I write the filewrapper to disk.

In my project settings, I have added a document type with a special extension for my application's documents. I checked the box that says "Document is distributed as a bundle" and added "Core Data persistent store type = SQLite" as an additional document type property.