Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Diskdoctor

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 11, 2006
I have just bought my mac after using a PC for years....I have sevral external drives all formatted NTFS...the smallest drive is 350 gb and the biggest 750gb.

I no MacDrive will let a PC read and write to a HFS Drive but can I get a mac to read and write to a NTFS drive?

or is there a way to convert my NTFS drive to HFS without losing all the data on then...?

I am really new to mac so please forgive my stupidity....

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5
No, there is no way to get a Mac to write to NTFS. NTFS is a proprietary, closed standard (thanks a bunch Microsoft).

Reformat your drives FAT32 if you need to share, or HFS+ (MacOS Extended) if Mac only. This WILL erase all of your data.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
I have just bought my mac after using a PC for years....I have sevral external drives all formatted NTFS...the smallest drive is 350 gb and the biggest 750gb.

I no MacDrive will let a PC read and write to a HFS Drive but can I get a mac to read and write to a NTFS drive?

or is there a way to convert my NTFS drive to HFS without losing all the data on then...?

I am really new to mac so please forgive my stupidity....

Microsoft uses a bit of patented technology to write data to NTFS but reading it back is un-patentable. Microsoft refuses to license this to anyone. So while it would be easy to do no one will sell you the ability to write to NTFS volumes. There is some free software on the 'net that you can find but your best plan would be to re-format the volumes to HFS+.

There is no technical reason for this. Microsoft did it specifically so that switching away from NTSF is not be easy

Diskdoctor

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 11, 2006
There is some free software on the 'net that you can find