Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

azpc

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 24, 2011
By far the most frequent question (request) for new and old* Mac users.

* If they switched from a Linux or Windows system.

Here is how I believe the Mac should work. Mac users would have the best of all worlds - better than Linux or Microsoft Windows.

Request.png

Unfortunately, the Mac has never had a true Maximize button. The green button used to be a zoom button which would attempt to scale to the content. (A neat idea but not a maximize replacement)

Linux and Windows both have a Maximize button and the lack of one on the Mac can be very frustrating for switchers. I switched back in 2008 and I still miss the Maximize function. As a teacher I know hundreds of other switchers who also miss the Maximize function from Linux and Windows.

The graphic gives users the best of all the platforms:

- A zoom or scale the window to the content function.
- A full screen function.
- A true Maximize function which the Mac has never had.

Last edited:

leman

macrumors Core
Oct 14, 2008
Double-click the title bar already does that. The green button triggers the full screen mode. So thats two out of three of your requests which have already been implemented in OS X for years. As to the 'maximal size': what exactly is that? The reason why OS X never had a 'maximal size' button is because the definition of 'maximal size' is arbitrary. Instead, OS X designers chose to implement something which makes much more sense: an 'optimal see given the content'. Which is the Zoom function.

azpc

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 24, 2011
"Double-click the title bar already does that."

I wish it did! Try doing that in Preview, Pages or Finder on a 27 inch iMac. You don't get a maximized screen. You get a different result each time.