Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Waqaszed

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 14, 2017
Hi,

I am a newbie and I know the questions I am asking might have been answered before, but after searching the forum I couldn't actually find all the info which I require, so i'll really appreciate if someone could sum up all the info that I require in this post.

Before I start I want to clear that I live in a third world country so getting stuffs from newegg, ebay, OWC or MVC is completely out of the question, so I need answers which suits my situation

I am about to buy a Mac Pro 4.1 2009 (X2 8 core 2.66GHZ Nehlam Xeon, 16gb, 1TB and HD 5770 1GB Mac Ready)
after going through the forum MacRumors which is probably the best on the internet I have found out that I will need lots of Software and Hardware upgrade to make stuff runs without issues.

My Questions are:
1.Can I upgrade to OSX Seirra ? is there a guide and how stable is the solution? (I need to run latest versions of Sketchapp and Xcode)

2.I'll upgrade my GPU to either GTX 670 4gb or GTX 760 4gb so I have found out that one has to flash GPU's to see the boot screen or use two cards i.e a mac card to boot so here are the questions:
i) Can these cards be flashed what are the pros and cons of flashing a PC card
ii) if I use two GPUs how actually I switch from mac GPU to other GPU (just by plug out the VGA cable and plug it into the PC card or is there a way to switch between the two cards through software)

3.A Powerful GPU will require extra power so is it possible to replace Mac Pros PSU with a powerful PSU like Thermaltake, Antec or CM etc or i'll have to take an alternate route and what will be it?

Thanks in advance,
Waqazed

CapnDavey

macrumors 6502
Apr 11, 2015