Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

seriypshick

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 4, 2005
Everywhere
Today, I started learning Objective-C. I think it's very confusing.
Anyways here are my questions:

What are instance variables? Does it have another name "properties"?

methods = functions? Did I get this right?

Is there a difference between class and object? Or....

What is a class? class - collection of methods(functions), right?

What is an object then? object - copy of class, right?

What's the difference between instance and object?

What's a parent class? (Totally confused with this one.)

@interface, @implementation - do these have some special meaning? How are they different.

P.S. English is my third language. Maybe that's the reason why I don't get this stuff. Also, I know some C.

plinden

macrumors 601
Apr 8, 2004
You should invest in a general object oriented book (ie. not related to any particular language)

seriypshick said:
What are instance variables? Does it have another name "properties"?
You could call them that, but the proper term is instance variables.

seriypshick said:
methods = functions? Did I get this right?
The proper term for a function that's part of a class is "method".

seriypshick said:
Is there a difference between class and object? Or....
An object is a concrete instance of a class. Example - "mammal" is a class, "Simba" from "The Lion King" is an instance of "mammal" (actually an instance of "lion" but that comes later)

seriypshick said:
What is a class? class - collection of methods(functions), right?
A class is more than just a collection of mehods and variables. It should provide a complete description of an object. i.e everything needed to create a concrete instance of the class.

seriypshick said:
What is an object then? object - copy of class, right?