Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

acidburn

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 22, 2006
I am learning objective c - I have programmed a bit in VB and VB.Net so I am somewhat familiar with OOP principles. My experience is limited - I studied math in college and have just a couple of years programming experience in jobs that aren't "programming" jobs. I really want to get a programming job and wonder what the best way to approach it is. If I continue to learn objective c, could I find a job using it? Do I need a more specific degree or certification?
I apologize if this is the wrong forum for this question, but I thought I would ask - any thoughts would be great.

Fukui

macrumors 68000
Jul 19, 2002
acidburn said:
=I really want to get a programming job and wonder what the best way to approach it is. If I continue to learn objective c, could I find a job using it? Do I need a more specific degree or certification?
Learn good and slow, get the fundamentals down, don't neglect learning C, even though Cocoa and VB.Net are OO. What kind of job? A job at apple for one. Apple seems to have a habit of grabbing developers of good software, even if your just a 1 or 2 man team.

Just get your name out there, and produce some nice stuff, experience is the best resume.

savar

macrumors 68000
Jun 6, 2003
District of Columbia
acidburn said:
I am learning objective c - I have programmed a bit in VB and VB.Net so I am somewhat familiar with OOP principles. My experience is limited - I studied math in college and have just a couple of years programming experience in jobs that aren't "programming" jobs. I really want to get a programming job and wonder what the best way to approach it is. If I continue to learn objective c, could I find a job using it? Do I need a more specific degree or certification?