Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sheppy1

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 8, 2008
Ok guys so I'm new to the iPad scene having just picked one up today and i just thought of something...am I supposed to turn it off at night like a laptop or leave it on like an iPhone? Will it not overheat or something if I leave it on? What do you guys who have had it for a few do?

mcdj

macrumors G3
Jul 10, 2007
NYC
No worries, leave it on.

For your next question(s), no need for a separate thread. People will read your "just bought an iPad" post and help you there.

Stealthipad

macrumors 68040
Apr 30, 2010
This last Friday, I pulled my iPad out of the drawer that I had put it into last Sunday night and realized that I had left it on the entire 5 days and it still had the 95% power left that it did when I thought I turned it off!:eek:

After that I am leaving mine on.

sheppy1

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 8, 2008
Thanks for your replies guys, seems like I'll be ok to just leave it turned on all night

sheppy1

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 8, 2008
Since when are you supposed to turn off laptops at night? My MacBook Pro never gets turned off.

I don't mean that you are supposed to turn them off but for me and pretty much everyone else I know, it's just the norm to shut down your laptop at night time

brand

macrumors 601
Oct 3, 2006
I don't mean that you are supposed to turn them off but for me and pretty much everyone else I know, it's just the norm to shut down your laptop at night time

Do you know that you can hibernate or suspend both Windows and Mac OS so you don't have to completely power down the computer?

scubasteve03

macrumors 6502
Dec 16, 2008
Tulsa, OK