Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Farrgazer

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 25, 2017
Basic context: I am a freelancer and most of my work involves researching, creating or editing word documents, spreadsheets, and presentation files, as well as remote conferencing. Nothing as intense as video editing, programming or making art.

I currently have a stationary Dell Windows PC to cover the brunt of the document creation and conferencing. I also have a MacBook that I carry for on-site work if a client requests my physical presence, whether it’s a day trip or a multi-week project. I insist on having at least one Mac because I use DEVONThink as part of my research process.

With that out of the way, I’m looking for a Dropbox alternative that can work reasonably well on both my MacBook and my Dell. I am not interested in Dropbox because the gap between the free tier (2GB) and cheapest paid tier (2TB, $10/month) is too high in terms of both price and granted storage. I won’t have anywhere near that much data on hand for any project I do.

This leaves me with iCloud+ (eyeing the 200GB tier) or OneDrive (100GB tier, no Office). I already am using iCloud+ 50GB mostly as one of multiple backup locations for my personal photos (I own an iPhone 14 Pro Max, but I also uploaded all of my old photos to iCloud), but very little beyond that. Looking at the materials I’ve gathered for previous projects, 100GB will be plenty for my needs, because I would use this to hold only material that are relevant to the current project I’m tackling.

So this comes down to

1. Which combination works better, iCloud Drive on Windows, or OneDrive on Mac?
2. Do both systems allow me to access all files like I’m accessing a folder in Finder/Explorer, without being online?
3. Are there any quirks that could affect my workflow?

Mike Boreham

macrumors 68040
Aug 10, 2006
UK