Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

winxmac

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Sep 1, 2021
This is my first time starting a thread and I tried to find the relevant category where this should be placed but I can't seem to find the best one so if this is misplaced, moderators can go ahead and place this thread where it is actually suitable...

I have been OneDrive Personal [free account] for years now and I noticed that downloading several files in one go [OneDrive ZIP file] does not fully utilize your internet connection speed however when you download the individual files, the download finishes within a few minutes to a few hours [depending on the file size] since it harnesses your internet connection speed very well...

I usually download through the browser for I don't see the need of installing [Windows 7 and Windows 8.1 and macOS] and using the app [Windows 10] and I don't backup or sync on a regular basis so that's that... I also don't upload files in iCloud since trying to download files in the browser is a bit of a pain for me and I don't use the app also...

I purchased the 100GB OneDrive only since I have barely space left on the free 5GB and even that does not make a difference with the download speed... I am using IDM to download files and have set a download limit of 4MB/s and I tried downloading several files in one go but the download speed barely reaches 1MB/s while downloading 1 file at a time I am able to max the limit I have set...

I have also noticed the difference with the URL the file uses depending on whether it was downloaded individually or as a ZIP file...
individual file - https://public.bn.files.1drv.com [file is not shared but still uses public in the URL]
multiple files [ZIP] - https://storage.live.com/downloadfiles/V1/Zip?application=