Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aznspyder

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 24, 2005
California and Bangkok
I am thinking about opening my own business and I would like your opinions.

The business is on-site computer repair, virus removal, spyware removal, network installation, computer upgrade services, and more. I would offer prices well below the competition (compared to the Best Buy Geek Squad) and give a guarantee of satisfaction.

I am an expert in all of these fields and am very confident of my abilities.

What do you guys think? Any tips or pointers? Btw, I live in Riverside, California in case any of you are from here.

Dane D.

macrumors 6502a
Apr 16, 2004
ohio
Be prepared to deal with all kinds of people. If you cannot deal with people in a civil manner than do not venture into business. Make your service costs clear, and concise. Make sure the customer knows how to pay and when it is due. Do not price yourself too low or you end up with so much work and little to show for it. Establish yourself, use respect toward the customer, even when he/she is clearly wrong. A calm, cool-headed approach goes along way with people. Never let the customer see you 'sweat', people like confidence. Good service at fair pricing, done in a timely manner will get you far. I speak from experience. Before I had children, I was a wedding photographer for 13 years. I dealt with all kinds of people and all kinds of situations and locations.

timswim78

macrumors 6502a
Feb 8, 2006
Baltimore, MD
You may want to insure and bond yourself. Also, get agreement terms forms that people need to sign before you work on their machines.

Nickygoat

macrumors 6502a
Dec 11, 2004
London
Get advice from an accountant and a lawyer.
The lawyer will give you a thorough run down on your legal responsibilities - and there are a lot more than you will realise.