Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

errant1007

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2016
Hong Kong
Hi, I'm new to play with the PowerPC and found problem to install the Leopard Server.
I got the Old PowerPC G5 (2005), 2.0GHz with 7G Ram and running with OS10.4. Tried to upgrade the OS to Leopard Server with Disc, usually put the DVD in Rom(it's readable) and holding "C" to startup, it's nothing show up on the screen even Hold "Alt Option" still not showing up the "Installation Disk" in boot option.
Then, I formatted the original hard disk containing OS 10.4 by accident, means that's nowhere to install anything to the PowerPC, I've tried many different method and no luck to get done.
Tried to install the "Linux Ubuntu" on this machine and it's work fine, problem is there are too many driver need setup manually and given up to play with this.
Now I pulled out the hard disk and connect with my Macbook pro(2013), tried to install the OS SERVER 10.5.1 by OSinstall.mpkg (Path: /Volumes/Mac OS X Server Install Disc/System/installation/Packages), I ran this file and installed to the PowerPC HardDisk but still cannot see anything on the startup disk even I put back to the PowerPC, well knows we need the disk format to "Apple partition Map" then install.
Is anything I missed?

gavinstubbs09

macrumors 65816
Feb 17, 2013
NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
If you downloaded leopard server from an unnamed source, I believe that version is unbootable.

What I would do however, is connect the drive to your MBP again and erase as APM, then split it into two partitions. A 10GB split and restore the LeoServer to that, then the rest to install the OS to. Once you restored it to the HD, toss it back into the G5 and boot off that LeoServer partition.

errant1007

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2016
Hong Kong