Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheFallGuy

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 20, 2003
I bought a Powerbook G4 a while back (September 2003) it came with OSX 10.2. Can I upgrade this to the OSX 10.3? Would it be worth it to upgrade?

I'm a mac newbie and not too sure on a few things, so please don't flame me for my ignorance.

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
TheFallGuy said:
I bought a Powerbook G4 a while back (September 2003) it came with OSX 10.2. Can I upgrade this to the OSX 10.3? Would it be worth it to upgrade?

I'm a mac newbie and not too sure on a few things, so please don't flame me for my ignorance.

You certainly can upgrade it; but it's your call as to whether it's worthwhile or not. A lot of people love Expose, which is only in 10.3. They seem to have made a number of tweaks in the "Unix" underbelly of the OS between 10.2 and 10.3. But 10.2 was still pretty good.

Now if you were running 10.1 I'd say it's a slam dunk. :D

drjekyl

macrumors newbie
Jul 20, 2003
Panther Worth every penny!

DEFINITELY DO THE UPGRADE
10.3 has a lot more additional features than just Exposé. The way it handles network drives, wireless security features, Finder improvements and way too many others to list. If you use your PB in a traveling life, the new wireless features are a must. Especially if you are a college student.

TheFallGuy

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 20, 2003
drjekyl said:
DEFINITELY DO THE UPGRADE
10.3 has a lot more additional features than just Exposé. The way it handles network drives, wireless security features, Finder improvements and way too many others to list. If you use your PB in a traveling life, the new wireless features are a must. Especially if you are a college student.

Thanks for the info and the ideas!!! I'll be doing that. Just hope I don't screw up my Powerbook in the process!

patrick0brien