Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

confuzatron

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 16, 2005
Edinburgh, Scotland
Hi, I got a mac mini a couple of months ago, and I like it a lot (as a developer, I just can't get used to the beautifully be-iconed but feeble Finder, and it does seem to lock-up a little bit more than I'm used to) and I have a couple of things I havent been able to work out:

1) In windows, you can navigate controls on a web form with the tab key, but on OSX, the tab key appears to navigate between a subset of all the controls (e.g: checkboxes dont seem to be included). What am I missing?

2) A silly one. In iTunes there's an 'Import' menu item, that brings up a file dialog. What can be done from this dialog?? I havent been able to find anything importable! I cant seem to find any helpful documentation in the application's help. :eek: :confused:

(I had some other shortcut-key-related questions, but I went to the control panel before posting, and found them - and switch to white on black is cool :D)

PS: Finder - just my opinion, put down that pitchfork :)

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
to tab though things on webpages, open up system prefs, go to keyboard and mouse, go to keyboard shortcuts and turn on full keyboard access

and the import menu i believe is for adding exisiting MP3 or AAC files to your library

Applespider

macrumors G4
confuzatron said:
Hi, I got a mac mini a couple of months ago, and I like it a lot (as a developer, I just can't get used to the beautifully be-iconed but feeble Finder, and it does seem to lock-up a little bit more than I'm used to)

How much RAM do you have in your mini? While OS X is good at memory management, if you have a lot of apps open it does like lots of memory to play with. Soon as I put a GB of RAM in my PB, it's barely locked up since.