Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ostuneup

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 26, 2008
My day job is being a tech support rep for C****st high speed cable internet services - and we are getting a lot of calls from Mac Leopard users.

From what I'm seeing - if you connect a Mac Leopard into any home networking device - i.e. your router: everything else on the network will get painfully slow.

This includes Windows based PCs and network-attached games such as Xbox and Playstation.

Due to this situation a lot of people think it has to be the Internet Service Provider and may think that they have to upgrade to a faster speed-tier.

But what this really means is that something in Leopard is producing a lot of error traffic on the home network - which uses up the bandwidth and processing capabilities of the router as well as the host computer.

:cool:

corbywan

macrumors regular
Feb 4, 2008
Forest Grove, OR
Having used Leopard on your service, and the fact that a friend has Leopard Macs on his LAN connected to your service, I can say that that just isn't the case across the board. It may be some kind of back ground process kicking in (Software Update?) when they connect, but nothing in the OS.

There must be something more to the patter of these Macs. Brand new just brought home and first time plugged in? Does the slowness go away after a time of being plugged in? There must be more. Consistency of a model of router these users have? I've used a Linksys with the Linksys OS and DD-WRT with no worries, Airport Extreme (G and N) with no such problems.

plinden

macrumors 601
Apr 8, 2004
I presume you're asking for help?