Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BEET

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 7, 2004
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Hi all.

I'm a media studies lecturer and am teaching my students about page layouts, using indesign cs2. Does anyone know any good webpages that have information on general page layout techniques used my newspapers and magazines? Examples of the use of grids etc

thanks

primalman

macrumors 6502a
Jul 23, 2002
at the end of the hall
What are you doing teaching layout if you don't know anything about layout?????????? Makes me steam since I have spent my life doing and teaching design.. Ugh...:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

I am assuming you have a library, right? Go to it, do a seach about magazine, newspaper and/or book design, then on grids and design systems. This will get you started. I'm at a 25,000 student uni, and the library has about 40 books on grids alone, about 100 on typography and over 400 general design books. Avoid books like "quick layouts" and "layout tricks" and crap like that, they are C R A P. A good starting place is "Design for Non-Designers" by Robin Williams. While your at it, get her type books. DO NOT NEGLECT TYPE! Without good typography. great layout sucks.

decksnap

macrumors 68040
Apr 11, 2003
BEET said:
Hi all.

I'm a media studies lecturer and am teaching my students about page layouts, using indesign cs2. Does anyone know any good webpages that have information on general page layout techniques used my newspapers and magazines? Examples of the use of grids etc

thanks

Hmmm... maybe you should sign up for a class. :rolleyes:

RideIt

macrumors member
Feb 20, 2006
FL
primalman said:
Makes me steam since I have spent my life doing and teaching design

Hey primalman do you know anything about printing. I do output in a print shop and we have tons of problems with indesign. some of the tools should not be used. whats your thoughts??