Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

madisonm

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 3, 2011
Hello everyone, I hope you are all as excited as I am for official launch day!

I am looking for information about your experience with Parallels’ gaming performance on the M1 Pro or M1 Max. I have reviewed the list of M1 game compatibility/performance through Parallels (https://www.applegamingwiki.com/wiki/M1_Parallels_Windows_compatible_games_list) and I’m confused, what exactly is the real-world difference between Perfect and Playable?

Will the added heft of the M1 Pro and Max change any of these Playable games to Perfect, or is it based in the game itself?
For example I’m quite eager to be able to play Overwatch casually alongside native World of Warcraft.

Any insight at all into your experience is welcome! I’m a complete beginner.

Note: I will just add that I do have a dedicated Windows Desktop PC for gaming, and intentionally chose an Apple laptop despite its gaming challenges. I purchased a 16” M1 Max basic config.

Acidsplat

macrumors 6502
Aug 12, 2011
On my M1 MacBook Air, I tried out GTA IV under Windows 11 on Parallels and it was running at 25fps, which is super impressive considering even modern gaming PCs have had a tough time running it because it was a terrible unoptimized port, and that's running under emulation.

I imagine more GPU cores and better thermals will open up more games, and I assume Parallels will need to send a proper update out to support the new systems.

madisonm

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 3, 2011
On my M1 MacBook Air, I tried out GTA IV under Windows 11 on Parallels and it was running at 25fps, which is super impressive considering even modern gaming PCs have had a tough time running it because it was a terrible unoptimized port, and that's running under emulation.