Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kurtster

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 12, 2005
Tokyo
I'm eyeing a 2020 iMac in the local classifieds at a great price to replace my 2012 iMac, which has ground to a halt. I plan to use the new iMac as a stopgap for 3 or 4 years, and then think about a longterm solution. For various reasons, an intel Mac running x64 Windows suits my workflow better than Mac silicon.

Anyway, I've been using Vmware Fusion on my iMac ever since I got it in 2012, I'm wondering if there's a good reason to switch to Parallels when the new iMac arrives. Interested to hear from people who jumped ship from VMWare to Parallels.

Jim Lahey

macrumors 68030
Apr 8, 2014
I made the jump to Parallels because VMWare had a habit of changing the adapter IP address irrespective of a fixed IP allocated in Windows. It was unusable for me. Basically impossible to pin down an IP with equipment that didn’t support DHCP. Parallels fixed the issue immediately. This was 10+ years ago mind you.

gerdgoebel

macrumors newbie
Mar 14, 2024
I have been using Parallels since version 13 in Intel MBPs, since 2021 I use it on my MBP M1. Hardly ever had any problems. I could download Windows versions directly from Parallels, even the ARM version on my M1.
Nearly all defaults set by Parallels worked for my 3 VM.
Just keep in mind that the standard edition limits you to 8GB of RAM, and 4CPUs. It was never a problem with my VM, but I don't have many demanding apps.
If you have those, you should check out the Pro version.

I had tried the free version of Fusion, but had errors on my M1 and for that version I did not get any support, thus, I remained on Parallels.

kurtster

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 12, 2005
Tokyo
I made the jump to Parallels because VMWare had a habit of changing the adapter IP address irrespective of a fixed IP allocated in Windows.