Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

satans_banjo

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 12, 2005
SE London
hi. i'm doing an A-level course in computing and for that i need to use one of computing's oldest, most obsolete programming language known to man - pascal. after several hours of searching for and installing a pascal compiler and a pascal XCode plugin, i thought all i needed to do was open up XCode and start pascal coding

i was wrong. i can still build pascal programs, but i can only do that by opening a new 'project' - something i am fairly new to considering i use interpreted languages most of the time (python) and use textwrangler to write them. after starting a new project, a folder with about 3 files and 2 sub-folders is created, even if i'm only planning on making a simple "hello, world" script. is this all really necessary? or will i find it useful once i get around to making more complicated stuff?

also, my school uses windows and therefore i have to comply with their windows-using test machines in order to get my coursework marks. is there anything i would need to add to a script to make it work on windows?

HiRez

macrumors 603
Jan 6, 2004
Western US
Generally it is necessary for Xcode to create a folder hierarchy for projects. The build process that goes on can be very complex. However, you could probably use TextWrangler and compile using Terminal if you really want to, though as you guess, having all your files in "project" form might be easier once your projects get larger. Are you using the GNU Pascal compiler? Check this page for information. I think you would also need the Xcode Integration Kit.