Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

maverick22

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 30, 2012
I'm currently using an unbranded 8+ on Verizon. I live just south of downtown Dallas.

Here are my recent carrier experiences:

1) T-mobile = used them for a year about 3 years ago. Worst cellular reception of the big 3 at my house. Hated that their signal didn't penetrate buildings well. I felt like T-mobile was great if you always used your phone outside or in a car. If you're in a mall, hotel, restaurant, store, forget about it!

2) AT&T = I've had them since they were Cingular. Overall it works great around Dallas. My main gripes were we don't get service at my in-laws' who live just 5 minutes away from me, and another area we visit often often gets slow LTE (maybe due to congestion).

3) Verizon (using currently - had for about 3 months) = I left AT&T for Verizon since I have never tried it before. I thought it might end up being the "perfect carrier" for me. I'm finding more issues with it though. It gets worse service at my parents' house. Service is usable, but not great, at my in-laws'. Signal doesn't seem to penetrate buildings as well as AT&T (often gotten 1x or 3g at my parents'). I went to a new dentist the other day, and I had no service while there (my wife's ip X showed the same results). I just returned to my school campuses, and LTE struggles sometimes as well between 1x, 3g, LTE. AT&T always had a good, reliable LTE signal however.

So, I'm thinking of returning to AT&T or giving T-mo another shot. It sounds like T-mo's signal is better at penetrating buildings since I've tried it last.

If I go back to AT&T, I wonder if a newer phone would help with that dead spot at my in-laws'. I keep mentioning that because my wife is there at least 4-5 days a week. My daughter stays there about 2-3 times a week as well during the day.