Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

matthewh133

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2016
Hi everyone, I do photography for a living and thus have terabytes upon terabytes of 42 megapixel photos and 4k video files (Sony A7R III, Canon 1DX II). Currently, I have a very inefficient method of storing these files on external hard drives and just having to plug in whatever hard drive contains the files that I need at that time.

What I want to do is have all of my files stored on one device that is permanently attached to my computer so I can access them on a whim. Also, I want this device to be fast so that I am not having issues with Lightroom, Photoshop, Premier Pro etc lagging because of the connection type.

I'm thinking that right now I want a device that can hold up to around 48tb+ (24tb for storage and 24tb for backup/copy).

What would you suggest for my needs? Just an external USB 3 hard drive enclosure with 4 x 12tb hard drives? Would this be slow to edit on? I have a separate SSD in my PC that I can copy Premiere Pro projects and their corresponding video files onto to edit when working on a particular project and then move them off of afterwards, but I'm guessing this hard drive enclosure solution should be more than enough for photo editing off of and storage?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated as I'm a little lost right now. I should mentioned I'm also hoping to spend around $1500 (maximum $2000) if possible.

jackapple

macrumors member
Jun 20, 2009
First, what computer do you have, so you can take advantage of the best connection type (Thunderbolt 2, 3, just USB 3)?

I'm in the same boat deciding on storage options for my future iMac Pro, and I've narrowed it down to the following TB3 setups:
Check out Mac Performance Guide, which is an enormous resource in helping you optimize your workflow and backup.

matthewh133

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2016