Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

XS Max

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 4, 2019
A challenge for the global team .... !!!!!

I have been using iPhone X 256gb without issue for 6 months, then bought iPhone XS Max 512gb. I thought the process to move between phones would be easy ....
Backup the iPhone x using iTunes
Restore the backup to iPhone XS Max, using iTunes - all should be good?????

Both phones were brand new, no problems, never dropped etc ...

Main issue is that of the 12,000 images on the iPhone x, only 8,000 images came across - the other 4,000 images that were supposed to come across are blank white / grey tiles ... you can't open them or see them

So the image count is the same, just that you can't open 4,000 images on the XS Max.

If you Airdrop the missing images between the phones, it works, just don't want to do it 4,000 times as easy to mess it up. And the new images don't show up in the correct date / Album etc

Don't want to use iCloud as don't want my stuff on other peoples servers - and it is over 50gb

Have been trying to get help from Apple for almost a month without success so far - anyone have any ideas?

Just did some extra testing and it seems that iPhone XS Max is the problem - have taken 50 or so photos on the XS Max, and about 10% randomly don't copy across to the PC - error message says that ' It appears that we don't support this format' - but if you look at the copied across image it is a .jpg and there are no weird characters in the filename

And for movies a similar message is displayed. 'This file isn’t playable. That might be because the file type is unsupported, the file extension is incorrect, or the file is corrupt.' (For a .mov file)

Thanks

Last edited:

mikzn

macrumors 68040
Sep 2, 2013
North Vancouver
Another option would have been be to copy them to photos on a Mac or MacBook

Then use Photos to sync or copy them back to another phone