Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

B737

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 22, 2008
NJ
stuck in old habits want to be more efficient...

For the last 16 years I have let my iPhone camera roll build up, then remove photos off iPhone to my PC where they are organized into folders as "albums". Camera roll goes to zero. The photos reside on the PC. I sync with iTunes, it puts their copies onto the iPhone organized by folder album that iTunes looks at. This is very clunky.

My photo library isnt crazy. ~11,000 pix organized into ~20 folders, ~40 gb. My phone, Mac & iCloud have plenty of storage available.

I travel for a living, this system gives my photos a safe place to live on a desktop PC at home (that rarely gets used).
My MacBook travels with me is used most often. My iPhone & MacBook are at high risk of getting damaged / lost.

If I install iCloud onto my Windows 10 PC and let it rip, it's going to grab all 11,000 photos which have been carefully organized into folders and put them in one giant iCloud pile, never to be organized again. This is what's stopping me.

I read that if I move my photo library over to my MacBook, the photos app will allow me to keep the file structure that I copy over from my PC. Although, pictures taken going forward probably won't follow this file structure format, plus risks if the MacBook gets lost / damaged.

I could import the photos into iCloud and tag them into iCloud albums one large group (folder) at a time, that would not take me that long. However, that is still putting all the pictures into one giant pile. Does it matter in 2023?

I'm hoping someone who has done something similar in the past sees this and can shed some light on how I can most efficiently evolve.

Last edited:

RhetTbull

macrumors member
Apr 18, 2022
Los Angeles, CA