Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gangst

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 27, 2004
UK
Hi,

I am new to web design, and have taken a liking to it, at the moment I am learning Dreamweaver from scratch.
I have decided to take on web design for myself and friends, and will start by uploading .htm files to my .mac HomePage.
But since this is a .Mac page, I thought I would use it to practice my page design and buy a web address to use for myself (this is where my problems begin). I do not know where to start with buying my own web address. Where do I go to? What happens about server hosting? How much does it cost? Is it easy to maintain? etc....
I also was wondering how do you get a website listed on Google and other search engines?
I am a total newbie, so please bare with me, I just don't know where to start.

Thanks in advance.

ChicoWeb

macrumors 65816
Aug 16, 2004
California
I think your question is so broad no one really wants to take the time to respond. It's like asking how to build a house. Where do I start? What tools do I need? Where should I buy the hardware?

Three things involved in having a website.

1. Domain
  2. Server or Web Host
  3. The web site

You can buy domains anywhere really now a days. Go daddy has them for resonable price. Host. You can get all sorts of great hosting. I would go with unix platform. Then you begin drafting your website with Dreamweaver or Photoshop or a combonatin of both.

Once you get your website online get it linked from as many places as you can. This will allow for your site to get spidered as quickely as possible for SEO reasons.

This is the most broad response, but you're going to have to do some leg work yourself. Google can answer most of your questions. If you need a webhost, let me know or click on my sig.

ppc_michael

Apr 26, 2005
Los Angeles, CA