Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TastyCakes

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 4, 2006
Hi there. I looked over the stickys and haven't really found info that helps me. I am looking to procure a midi keyboard for my new intel imac. Since Im a noob I want something fairly versatile and a good entry level keyboard at a decent price. I was looking at the MAudio 49e. Anyone use this and love it? With this could you (I'm not sure of the term) record a certain sound and make that sound a different pitch on the keyboard? Like if you took the sound of an explosion then spread it across the keyboard so the lowest key would be the explosion very low pitched and the highest the same explosion very high pitched. Also, do any keyboards like this come pre-programmed with those cheesy casio beats a la Wesley Willis (RIP!)?

If that keyboard isn't really reccommended then what would you reccommend? Any help is appreciated. Thanks :)

zimv20

macrumors 601
Jul 18, 2002
toronto
With this could you (I'm not sure of the term) record a certain sound and make that sound a different pitch on the keyboard?
i'm not certain i'm understanding your exact phrasing, but i'm going to say "no". apologies if i misunderstood.

that m-audio keyboard, like all midi controllers, doesn't actually pass or process sound. they send out control information, like "note on", "note off", and "volume change", so that another device (which actually does process sound) can manipulate the sound to your commands.

when you're talking about recording a sound and processing it so that different keys play that sound at different pitches, that's called sampling. you need a sampler to do that, which you can get as either a standalone hardware piece or as a software app or plugin.

once you do that, then you can use the m-audio keyboard to play back those sounds.

TastyCakes

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 4, 2006