Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shaun3000

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 2, 2006
I travel frequently for a living. I use my Powerbeats Pro almost exclusively on while flying on airliners. Recently, I noticed that the left button had stopped working, almost like it was gunked up or stuck. I decided to get ahold of Apple, today, to see about a repair. As I was on hold I Googled the issue and it turns out lots of people have the same problem but only when on an airplane. Sure enough, both of my buttons are working just fine here on terra firma. The issue seems to be related to the lower ambient pressure inside the cabin at altitude.

When a rep finally answered, they were stumped by the issue. According to my rep, Apple has no other reports of this issue. The only options he gave me was to either send it in for repair or bring it to an Apple store. (where they will probably send it in for repair) He said if they can’t reproduce the problem they will send it back to me. I asked if they have a vacuum chamber at their testing facility, he said he didn’t know. I’m going out on a limb and assuming they don’t and will be unable to reproduce the issue.

Has anyone else had this problem? It seems, to me, like a manufacturing defect. I’d like to make someone in a position of power aware of the issue so we can get it properly addressed.

Here are some Reddit threads about the issue I’m having:
https://www.reddit.com/r/powerbeatspro/comments/c2ele3 https://www.reddit.com/r/beatsbydre/comments/c1oycy https://www.reddit.com/r/beatsbydre/comments/bxjjkl

finlaycraig

macrumors newbie
Apr 4, 2016
London
@shaun3000 thanks for pulling these links together! I booked a Genius Bar appointment earlier today because my Powerbeats Pro keep triggering Siri in-flight. Great timing!

Tdosthp

macrumors 6502
Apr 27, 2015