Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tomstone74

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 26, 2021
Hello,

I've a shiny 14" M1 Pro 10/16/32G/2TB :), which I would also (beside Photo/Video editing) like to use for some native iOS / Mac development.

I have a university degree in computer science with 20 years experience in software engineering, databases and some other stuff, mainly based on Java (backend), Delphi (anybody still knows that?) relational and NoSQL (Cassandra) databases.

So, not related for my day job, but more for private interest with a concrete goal (mentioned below), I would like to get into / learn native iOS / Mac development. As I know the main concepts of software engineering, I kinda think it's mainly tool (XCode?), language (Swift?) and perhaps deployment/testing/debugging related. I don't intend to release something into the AppStore, if not needed for below goal.

The (ambitious?) goal is - until end of June 2023 - to have a simplified - but heavy "personalized" - game (thought about Tetris) running on an iPad Air, as a birthday present for my kids, thus the heavy "personalized" thingy, not something out-of-the box from the AppStore. :)

A guess there is a ton of material on XCode/Swift (in case this is the preferred combo, but I think so, right?) etc ... out there, but what I'm basically seeking is, ideally from someones personal experience, some sort of quick practical guide into the Apple development world, coming from Java/IntelliJ, thus not learning programming from scratch. Can be a book. Can be a Udemy/Pluralsight course etc.

Thanks a lot!

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark