Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dave the Great

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 27, 2004
I am new to XCode. I am interested in creating a preference pane. Does anyone know of any good tutorials?

I found a couple of preference pane web pages, but they seem quite outdated, from ~ 2001, and do not show creation in XCode.

Thanks.

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
What do you want your preference pane to control? The basics are really simple. Start XCode and choose New Project. Select Preference Pane from Standard Apple Plugins. Put the UI for your pane in the Nib file and the supporting code in the <your pref pane>Pref.m file.

That's about it.

To give it a custom icon overwrite the <your pref pane>Pref.tiff file.
To alter the name displayed (so it's not the name you gave the project) alter the NSPrefPaneIconLabel value in the Info.plist file. Also make sure you set the bundle identifier to something sensible.

The difficult bit is making the pref-pane control whatever it's meant to control. If it's your own code you can simply write to the standard user defaults for your app.

Dave the Great

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 27, 2004
robbieduncan said:
What do you want your preference pane to control? The basics are really simple. Start XCode and choose New Project. Select Preference Pane from Standard Apple Plugins. Put the UI for your pane in the Nib file and the supporting code in the <your pref pane>Pref.m file.

That's about it.

To give it a custom icon overwrite the <your pref pane>Pref.tiff file.
To alter the name displayed (so it's not the name you gave the project) alter the NSPrefPaneIconLabel value in the Info.plist file. Also make sure you set the bundle identifier to something sensible.