Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

minitrialer

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 21, 2005
Uk,Suffolk,Ipswich
Hi, and sorry to be a pain.I am new to FCP and have searched the forum but couldn't seem to find an answer.Here goes:
Well, when i try export a video made on my panasonic camcorder- alright quality entry level 3 chip 500 quid etc. etc. it seems no matter what format i try the motion is really blurry ( it is a video of BMX-ers) and there are funny stripy lines when they move fast and sometimes not even that fast. I want to make a video and burn it to DVD and have it nice quality, what format should i export it as?( The quality is fine when i watch it straight on the TV)
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Dan

PegasusMedia

macrumors member
Mar 29, 2006
Jacksonville, FL
problem exporting

Have you actually burned a DVD and these problems happen when playing your DVD on TV?

If not...do so. You will probably see the problem correct itself. You are seeing the difference in the way a computer monitor works vs. the way a TV works. I'm an NTSC guy, not PAL, so I won't try to explain it too technically & look stoopid. Has to do with Progressive vs. interlaced, frame rates, bla bla bla.

Suffice to say, if the problem you are seeing is only on the computer screen, you probably don't have a problem. It will likely look fine when burned & played on a TV.

pdpfilms

macrumors 68020
Jun 29, 2004
Vermontana
What you're seeing is interlacing. These lines are what are referred to when you see specs for broadcast monitors and such... "480 lines", "520 lines", etc. Video is split into half frames, containing every other line of information. The following frame contains the other half of the lines, and thus fast motion reveals these lines.