Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Shaun.P

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jul 14, 2003
Omicron Persei 8
Hey,

I am in my first year at university and I am doing computer science. I am finding the programming difficult because it is very problem solving orientated.

I have to sit a programming exam a week today (I have to type the solution to a problem, the problem was given out one week ago).

I started working on the problem today. I managed to get some basic concepts done however I am uncertain how to work out the winner and with the number of votes.

I have scanned what I have programmed so far, and the sheet we were given with the problem. When I sit the exam I will not be allowed to take anything in with me, however I can work on the problem as much as I like beforehand.

The programming language used is Ada.

Shaun.P

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jul 14, 2003
Omicron Persei 8
Also, I should've mentioned: I'm don't want exact Ada code, but merely suggestions on how to solve the problem, i.e. use an array, for loop etc.

We haven't really covered advanced stuff only stuff like while, for, if, arrays, put, get, etc, etc.

Thanks for any help.

mdavey

macrumors 6502a
Nov 1, 2005
FearFactor47 said:
I am uncertain how to work out the winner and with the number of votes.

Well the first thing to realise is that your tutor hasn't given you a finished solution - that applies both to the code and the data storage. You are going to need to set up some kind of data storage before you enter the loop and then update the appropriate part of that storage for each row you read in.

You mentioned that you have done arrays - that is one way you could solve the data storage problem. If you have done structures or linked lists, then you might be able to employ those techniques. Or you could just use a bunch of individual variables.