Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Astro13

Cancelled
Original poster
Nov 4, 2023
image.jpg
image.jpg
Just pulled the power board out of one of my Mac’s, unsure if this is worth fixing

Attachments

• IMG_0613.jpeg
    IMG_0613.jpeg
    481.3 KB · Views: 39
  • IMG_0614.jpeg
    IMG_0614.jpeg
    450.5 KB · Views: 47
  • IMG_0615.jpeg
    IMG_0615.jpeg
    518.7 KB · Views: 47
  • IMG_0611.jpeg
    IMG_0611.jpeg
    448.1 KB · Views: 46

profcutter

macrumors 65816
Mar 28, 2019
I am not an expert on this in the slightest, but it looks like a cap or two barfed all over the board. If I were you, I would remove the offending caps, scrub the board with vinegar and then IPA, and then use a volt meter to make sure the traces are still good. If the traces are OK, then the board is probably salvageable. Would I attempt to do this myself, yeah, maybe after watching a few YouTube videos, specifically Adrian’s Digital Basement. Would I succeed? Eh, probably about a 50-50 chance. Someone with more experience should be able to save it, depending on the state of the traces on the board.

profcutter

macrumors 65816
Mar 28, 2019
I am not an expert on this in the slightest, but it looks like a cap or two barfed all over the board. If I were you, I would remove the offending caps, scrub the board with vinegar and then IPA, and then use a volt meter to make sure the traces are still good. If the traces are OK, then the board is probably salvageable. Would I attempt to do this myself, yeah, maybe after watching a few YouTube videos, specifically Adrian’s Digital Basement. Would I succeed? Eh, probably about a 50-50 chance. Someone with more experience should be able to save it, depending on the state of the traces on the board.
Oh, and IPA means Isopropyl Alcohol. I think dunking the board in India Pale Ale would probably worsen the situation.

• Haha
Reactions: Nermal

Astro13

Cancelled
Original poster