Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sammyman

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 21, 2005
I am looking to get something to help my recording situation here. I am loving garageband. Very cool.

The new mbox came out and I am considering this as an option. I need to record vocals and live guitars and the little 1/8 does not cut it. I need some kind of I/O box. I want to spend about $500 to upgrade my system.

I could get the new mbox or maybe

icontrol
logic
m-audio fast track

What should I do? I am a student so I get the cheap versions of logic. I really just want to use midi and be able to record good vocals and acoustic guitar. What do I need???

faintember

macrumors 65816
Jun 6, 2005
the ruins of the Cherokee nation
sammyman said:
I am looking to get something to help my recording situation here. I am loving garageband. Very cool.

The new mbox came out and I am considering this as an option. I need to record vocals and live guitars and the little 1/8 does not cut it. I need some kind of I/O box. I want to spend about $500 to upgrade my system.

I could get the new mbox or maybe

icontrol
logic
m-audio fast track

What should I do? I am a student so I get the cheap versions of logic. I really just want to use midi and be able to record good vocals and acoustic guitar. What do I need???
NO MBOX!!! RUN AWAY SCREAMING!!!!!

Ok, now that my outburst is over...
I would look at the:
M-Audio Firewire 410 (nice unit that i have used myself; fair price)
Presonus Firebox (looks great, is small, Presonus makes great products, and comes with a copy of Cubase LE)
and the Focusrite Saffire (new product from a good/well known company; has the ability to do onboard DSP, such as Reverb without using your CPU)

If you want to use Logic, Logic Express (Academic Edition) will be plenty for your basic mixing needs. No reason to go Logic Pro unless you want to spend $500.