Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

davideotape

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 16, 2012
I found a pretty good deal on a base model M1 MacBook Pro. I'm not a pro and am still learning Logic-- I basically just want to use Logic Pro with Software instruments and a few virtual plugins. I installed maybe 75-80% of the software I want and I'm down to 138gbs before even playing a note.
- Is there a workflow or are there tips for consolidating space?
- Should I return it and wait for a deal on a 512 model?
- Am I worried about nothing and that remaining space is plenty and I can just move projects over to an external drive

I want to keep this portable, so any external drives should be real discreet, and ideally not necessary for sketching out ideas (ie: "relocate sound library" maybe not a good idea)

Reactions: brdeveloper

brdeveloper

macrumors 68030
Apr 21, 2010
Brasil
Even 512GB is not enough in the mid/long term. I wouldn't care too much. My current setup is a Mac Mini 2012 i7 with a 128GB SSD plus a 1TB hdd as a secondary internal storage. I moved all Logic Pro large libraries to the hdd by using symbolic links (actually I don't remember well which procedure I used). I keep current projects on an external SSD and older ones in the 1TB HDD. I think 512GB will just allow you to wait a bit more before switching to an external storage workflow. In your case, perhaps the upgrade price could be spent on a large external USB SSD in the 1TB-2TB range.

P.S.: I'm planning moving to an AS Mac, but only after Apogee assure my Element 46 is fully compatible. I have a few expensive plugins that I'm waiting for reviews before upgrading to AS (iZotope, BIAS, Melodyne, Apogee FX Rack...).

Last edited:
Reactions: DeepIn2U

LukeHarrison

macrumors 6502
May 11, 2007