Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Average Pro

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 16, 2013
Cali
I recently swapped my drives and SSD into a brand new QNAP (TVS-872XT). The previous QNAP failed and would not power up. After transferring the SSDs I installed the firmware (4.5.4.1892), rebooted, and then installed all eight drives. Every program works with the exception of Final Cut Pro. If I move my library and launch FCP from any other external drive, I can open and use FCP. However, if I launch it from the QNAP/NAS I get the following error:

Unsupported volume type. Choose a local, SAN, or supported SMB location.

I've been using a TVS-872XT for almost two years and have never run into this error or problem. I spoke to Apple techincal support and they said this problem is coming from the NAS. To confirm the NAS is the problem, I copied the FCP library from the NAS to an external drive. Launched FCP and it worked. Then I copied the library back to the NAS, relaunched, but the error remains.

The only difference between the previous and new NASs is the firmware version. The previous NAS ran version 4.5.4.1800. I would have installed the same version, but it no longer appears on the QNAP download page.

I submitted a ticket to their technical support. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Configuration:
2019 Mac Pro
Connnected via TB3
macOS Big Sur V11.6

Lisse

macrumors newbie
Jan 1, 2017
Variable
I recently purchased a similar QNAP as a second NAS on our LAN. I was hoping to get it to work with an existing Netgear NAS so they could each back up one another daily using rsync. Unfortunately, I could never get it and the Netgear to work together well. I returned the QNAP.

Now, I'm having second thoughts and I actually like the QNAP in other ways.

Sorry, all beside the point. How are you connecting to the QNAP? Are you using the Thunderbolt port or the LAN connection?