Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kainjow

Moderator emeritus
Original poster
Jun 15, 2000
I am a student who is a webmaster (HTML and PHP). I currently have no good graphics program. I just use basics like GraphicConvert (can't do anything besides basics) and cheasy other things. Now that Illustrator and Photoshop are available for OS X and that Flash and Fireworks are coming soon (thinksecret.com), I've been thinking it's time to save up $$$ and buy a nice graphics program. But, I don't really know what to use. I would only need basics (more than GraphicConverter) and I've installed the Illustrator 10 Trial which I really like. Why is Photosphop $200 more? Would I benefit from that? Somebody give me some advice on what graphics program to buy.

Thanks,

-Kevin

eyelikeart

Moderator emeritus
Jan 2, 2001
Metairie, LA
Illustrator is a vector program...use it do create vector artwork...u can use it to do some simple layouts. U can create editable eps files to import into other programs with it.

Photoshop is an image editing program....use it to edit photos....colors....etc etc. Photoshop is one of the top graphic applications u can get, therefore it's kinda expensive. U can create jpegs, gifs, eps files, tifs, and lots more with it.

To distinguish which u need depends all upon what kind of artwork u are doing. They are both beneficial when used together. Illustrator to create vector work (with type especially) and Photoshop to edit images (resolutions, colors, filter effects, etc. etc.)

I prefer Freehand over Illustrator though.....for me it's easier interface....but Illustrator can do more...

AmbitiousLemon

Moderator emeritus
Nov 28, 2001
down in Fraggle Rock