Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tt4442

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 25, 2017
Hi,

Bear in mind I am not a developer, but a product designer seeking advice on what best solution to take.

I'm looking to create a PHP based SaaS which will have an app for iOS+android and responsive website for mob, tab and desktop.

Early on, I'll create the MVP (minimum viable product) just for the web using responsive so all devices are supported, likely using laravel+MySQL or similar for backend. Then something like vuejs/react for front end. This will be a working service at that point.

I will then use a low cost wrapper to get it into the two app stores using react, ionic, capacitor etc, creating all necessary API's. It won't be a high-performing app but it will support push notifications benefit from app store-presence.

Then, if the project is successful after 12-24 months, I would like to hire a swift, objective programmer who can create the iOS app - and the key here is - ideally using the same API's as created before, so that:

- They don't have to ask for any new API's to be created as they all exist (e.g. pulling product info..)
- No backend programming is required on the app itself, it is just communicating with API's
- I partly have saved time/done some of the work by creating these API's

So, is this making sense? The main point here is that I'm creating a basic lowcost product to gauge success, but making all the work come form a separate backend web server so that it is more "agnostic", and if the product is successful, I ideally save time by re-using those same API's for native app.

I may be totally out of the loop here as I'm not familiar with much of this area, so I'd appreciate any developer who has a good understanding of creating apps for both web and native, especially in regards to using API's for pulling in data.

Mark FX

macrumors regular
Nov 18, 2011
West Sussex, UK