Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

skidknee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 1, 2005
Hey guys,

Apologies if this is in the wrong section, but I'm directing this at all the photographers and graphic designers. I am curious about what would be considered an ideal workstation to use Photoshop CS2 (the rest of the suite for that matter), possibly Aperture, Colorburst, and all the things you use for image editing, organizing, publishing, and processing.

Obviously the top of the line Quad G5 would work the best, but let me add some background about what I am looking for.

I'm a Sophomore in college, majoring in Photography, and am interested in getting a dedicated workstation to start a photo workflow that can handle large volumes of images (in quantity and size). By no means am I a professional, but I am aspiring and learning. I consider myself tech saavy and nerdy enough to care about the hardware and softare I am running, but I do not have a full grasp on every technical aspect of that topic.

I am definitely talking about the PowerMac. I was looking into saving money for one, but the question of upgrading the graphics card, and perhaps a question of how much RAM becomes redundant for the workload of a photographer.

How much of a photographer's needs are based on the quality of the graphics card? For some reason, I don't think it matters that much unless it's rendering, etc.

Secondly, I'm looking to add 2-3 GB of RAM to start and a secondary internal hard drive.

Sorry for making this post long, but after daydreaming about a PowerMac for so long, I wanted to hear your opinions on what's essential in a workstation for a photographer or another occupation of similar neccessity, or better yet, your current workstation and how it meets your needs, down to the sepcs and types of storage, RAM, programs, etc.

Thanks guys.:p

iGary

May 26, 2004
Randy's House
skidknee said:
Hey guys,