Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Codpeace

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 13, 2011
NYC
Hey, so I’m an enthusiast and super excited about the new Mac Pro. I’m reading all I can about it bc it’s fascinating to me how much creative folk (who are my clients; I’m a lawyer who advises artists, filmmakers, musicians, etc.) are craving this machine. I have no need for a machine like this — but I still think it’s cool and want to learn more.

One thing I’d love some insight on is: what would someone do, that is how would someone make good use of, such a vast amount of RAM as this machine can accommodate, like 1.5tb? What possibilities does it present? How do you “fill” it productively?

I can imagine things like multiple virtual drives for scratch work, or virtual machines running various software on multiple OS platforms, but there must be more exotic yet efficient ways to use those resources than just speed-scaling, right? I’m particularly interested in these capabilities as might be used by creative professionals (as opposed to, say, bankers or bitcoin miners).

I get how multiple cores and greater CPU and GPU capacity can be useful (though comments on that would be really welcome, for me to learn), but how increases in processor power can/does integrate with massive RAM is beyond my current understanding.

Thanks ?? for anything you’re willing to share!

arock

macrumors member
Apr 29, 2005