Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lakerchick4life

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 14, 2007
Hi everyone just installed my new apple 4K 32GB 2021 apple tv today..got the apple tv plus free for one yr which is super cool..I am new at this so have a question about the spectrum app for anyone who is familiar with it..I had a digital box but had so many issues with it decided to try streaming for once..I put in the spectrum app and everything is great except one thing, I notice that there is maybe a 10-15 second delay between what Im watching and the exact same channel that is in the Den(on our dvr spectrum box) I connected the apple tv to ethernet connection since the wifi signal in my room stinks. I asked spectrum about it and she said that with internet connection there may be a delay compared to a co-axil cable is that true?
Thanks so much appreciate it

Runs For Fun

macrumors 65816
Nov 6, 2017
Yes that is correct. A way to think of it is you’re getting it directly from the source through the co-ax. When you stream it, it has to come over the Internet which is going to introduce delays. They may also have to do some type of conversion of the stream too which would also cause more delays.

lakerchick4life

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 14, 2007
Yes that is correct. A way to think of it is you’re getting it directly from the source through the co-ax. When you stream it, it has to come over the Internet which is going to introduce delays. They may also have to do some type of conversion of the stream too which would also cause more delays.

Thanks so much for the info..when I turned off the apple tv box last night I used the siri remote(I have the newest apple tv with the new siri remote that has the power button on the top..so I used the power button to turn off both the tv and the apple box I assume that is OK