Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lakerchick4life

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 14, 2007
Hi everyone just a quick question. I know Im probably harping on nonsense but just wanted to be sure since Im new to the whole Macbook experience. I have the macbook pro 2017 laptop purchased it a few months ago..so today after downloading the new mac high sierra update, I always like to go into about my mac and go to storage..I notice it never moves from "Calculating" I asked two apple techs over the phone and they said its totally normal and could take hours for it to change when I go to manage everything pops up immediately..I have only used about 50GB total(And that is including the operating system, hardly have anything on it) but just wanted to be sure that everything with my hard drive is OK..I assume if there were something wrong I wouldnt need to check that to figure it out. so just wanted to be put at ease
Thanks

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California
My MacBook Pro does that also sometimes and if I just wait a couple minutes it will finish "calculating" and show the storage amounts. It takes longer to calculate when you do OS updates like that also because it has to reindex the drive.

jerryk

macrumors 604
Nov 3, 2011
SF Bay Area
The techs are correct, it can take hours.

Macs do some interesting things depending upon the applications you run. For example if you run Time Machine, and are disconnected from the backup media for a while you can see large amount of System space consumed because it is caching changed files which get reallocated after Time Machine completes. I had this happen to me when I saw a difference of 100GB in the free space shown and the actual used space calculated by a script I wrote.

lakerchick4life

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 14, 2007